Being an INFJ

Recently I have been doing  research on being an INFJ. If you dont know what INFJ means, its one of the 16 MBTI personality types. You can find a very detailed description of an INFJ here. There is also a great video that explains our personality perfectly:

And here is a video called “Pure INFJness” which is very accurate:

I even created an entire tumblr blog dedicated to INFJ personality type: http://perksofbeinginfj.tumblr.com/. I post here things which are relatable to INFJs. It is a glipse into our minds.

The information I have found during my research is definitely relatable to my own life. When I read these posts and articles I am literally reading with an intense jaw-dropped face. Every description of an INFJ personality is me in a nutshell. 

I have decided to contribute to many other posts other INFJs have written about their lives. This one is about the advantages and disadvantages of being an INFJ. Like any other personality type, it has its positives and its negatives. I definitely enjoy being an INFJ, I wouldnt change my personality type even if I could. Its not always easy to have such a rare and widely misunderstood personality, but our lives are definitely not boring.

I hope this information will be helpful for you, if youre an INFJ you will most likely be able to relate to most of the points and if youre another personality type, I hope this post will help you to understand us better. 

What I love about being an INFJ:

  • I am intensely self aware. Because I am constantly thinking, analyzing each one of my thoughts and discovering all of my motivations, I know my strengths and weaknesses. I like myself more every year because I know myself more every year and the more I get to know who I am, the more control over I have in making myself who I want to be. If I couldn’t talk and argue with myself every waking hour, I would go truly insane. I love being able to explore myself, my motivations and desires honestly. And obviously I like doing it to other people as well.
  • I love how friendly I am. I just like being nice to people. I love how I can surprise every day people with my kindness – as if it’s nothing they’ve ever seen before.
  • I love my ability to think the way I do. I like that I think analytically and I like that I think creatively.
  • I love my imagination. It’s endless.
  • I love my intuition. I rely on it more than on anything else. And it never disappoints me. Sometimes I feel like I’m psychic.
  • I love my understanding of people and being empathetic enough to truly understand and help them. Being able to see through “fake” or untruthful people and their lies. I love how I can meet someone and instantly know if this person is worth getting to know or not.
  • I can always see right through situations and most people to the core of things. I have great radar and gut instincts.
  • I love it that people are drawn to me and feel good to tell me about their deepest feelings and concerns, even though we may have just met. I love to listen to people, to guide them and help them.
  • I love my ability to listen, and not just listen… but completely absorb what others are saying.
  • I like my camouflage ability to blend in with different groups of people.
  • I like my ability to form lasting relationships and deep bonds with people.
  • I actually enjoy being a perfectionist – everything being neat and orderly is relaxing. I like my capacity to do and finish something if I put my mind to it.
  • I love my honesty. I can’t seem to be anything but honest. I simply can’t lye. Maybe sometimes I don’t tell the whole truth when I know that the other person is not prepared to hear it, but I always mean what I say.
  • I have the power to motivate anyone to strive for their goals, if they’re children, people my age, older people, whatever… I have become extremely good to debate every part of why they aren’t living their life. Being able to see the potential in others and even myself is really inspiring and when people tell me about their dreams, goals and future plans I can’t help but smile and usually get more excited than they are about it.
  • I love my own company. I like the peace I can find in being alone. Thinking back there’s literally never been a time when I’m alone where I’ve wished that someone else was with me. I hardly ever feel lonely because I live so much in my head.
  • I love my ability to express myself well through writing.
  • I love my dedication to make the world a brighter place. I love how excited I am to make a difference.

What is not so great about being an INFJ:

  • I feel everything those around me feel. This is a blessing and a curse at the same time. It’s not even empathy. I literally feel exactly what you feel. Even if you are trying to hide it or don’t express your feelings, somehow I still know. The weird part is that I don’t have to be in the physical presence of someone to feel their emotions. I can hear a news story, I can read a book, I can watch a movie. I can’t stand horror movies because of how strongly and realistically I feel the emotions of the people on the screen. I avoid the news. I block out negative stories people tell. I skip magazine articles. It’s not that I am trying to be ignorant to the pains in the world, but I physically can’t handle the excess of emotions.
  • I can’t control my facial expressions. Every emotion I feel is spread obviously across my face or it shows on my body language. It can prove to be extremely embarrassing sometimes.
  • I have no sense of how others see me. This is a paradox because I can read people very well. I tend to know who to trust or who to dodge. I can tell if someone is nervous, concerned, intimidated even if they are trying to hide it. The weird thing is that I literally have no clue if someone likes me or what they could be thinking of me at any given moment. Its very frustrating. Just imagine being able to gauge someone just by looking at them and then looking in the mirror and seeing a giant question mark. That’s what it’s like. My life’s joy and entertainment is from observing and figuring people out and the person I am supposed to know the best is the one that puzzles me most. Ah the irony.
  • I am very sensitive to negative words and criticism. I know I feel as though I have failed somehow or I am distorted if I am criticized. I have been working on trying to not take things so hard.
  • I think the things most people talk about are boring. I’m always testing people to see if I can talk to them about the things that really matter to me (usually I can’t). I’d rather have one person in my life who gets me than dozens of people who just know me. I know my friends better than they know themselves (but I can’t tell them that). I’d rather use conversation to talk to someone about their true thoughts and feelings (but this doesn’t happen at group dinners or parties, so I avoid these things).
  • I’m a perfectionist and I obsess over little things, like how the decorations in my room look or what clothes I should wear. I spend more time on projects than I let on to other people.
  • And probably the worst thing about being an INFJ is not being understood. Since we are such a rare personality type, other people cant relate to us. We are often describes as weird, complex, paradoxical, too deep… While part of me enjoys being somewhat of a puzzle that no one will ever figure out, sometimes I just wish people could just understand certain things about me. For instance, everyone thinks I am lonely because I would rather sit home and read a nice book, then go out and socialize. Everyone thinks I am depressed because I don’t walk around with a mile-wide grin on my face. There are many misunderstandings that we INFJs must face. 
Leave a Reply

