My problem with studying

I am feeling intense negative emotions when I am learning for my entrance examinations. When I am trying to solve a math problem and I don’t know what to do with it, I start to feel completely frustrated. I feel like I am stupid and I won’t pass the test. I feel  like I am a worthless human being because I am not intelligent enough. I feel that I am not good enough to be accepted for university. I start feeling bored and I seek distractions. I stop focusing on the test and I start to think about millions of other things. At the end of the day I have not completed the test, I feel like crap because I have done nothing productive all day, I feel incredibly stupid and horrible about myself. Whenever I do something what is supposed to be fun I don’t enjoy it fully because I am telling myself that I should be studying. And when I am trying to study I get bored easily and think about all the fun things I could do at the moment. So at the end I feel like I am wasting my life.

It seems that my number one problem is that I feel worthless when I am no table to solve a math problem. I think that more intelligent people are better than less intelligent ones. Therefore I feel like a worse human being when I am no table to understand some things easily.

First of all I should know that people with higher points of IQ aren’t better than people with lower IQ. We are all equal from the perspective of the source. Intelligence does not determine my worth. Little babies don’t know how to solve complicated math problems and still they are worthy. So to judge myself as not good enough because I am not a math genius is completely irrelevant.

And just to make myself feel better, I am not completely stupid. Everyone is good at something. Just because maths isn’t my biggest talent doesn’t mean that I am not smart. To quote Albert Einstein: Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.

Areas in which I am smart and talented:

  • I have good language skills. I am a good writer.
  • I can learn foreign languages easily. My English is getting really good and I am also very good at German (since I study abroad in this language)
  • I have a good memory and I memorize things easily.
  • I am very emphatic and understand peoples emotions and motives.
  • I am also good at figuring out my own shadow sites and counseling myself.
  • I am good at social sciences.
  • I am not so bad at maths either. In the last year of high school I got best grades.
  • There are people that are so much worse in maths than myself
  • I am good at painting mandalas.

So what do I do to learn more effectively for my exams and have fun with it?

I shouldn’t beat myself up when I don’t know the answer to the question immediately. I am going to tell myself: I am smart enough to figure this out. I will think about it long enough and I will surely find the answer.

I will stop distracting myself from the test. I will be paying attention only to the test. I will take breaks so I don’t get tired too soon. When I finish it I am going to feel good about myself and I will also be able to do all the fun stuff without feeling guilty. That is going to increase my productivity and I won’t feel like I am wasting my life.

vyssizamer

Leave a Reply

